Children diagnosed with a wheat allergy must avoid all foods containing wheat. Wheat, however, is found in many manufactured foods and the sources of wheat are not always obvious. For this reason it is important to read the labels of all manufactured foods to make sure they are suitable for your child.

The following foods and ingredients contain wheat and wheat protein.1,2 These foods should be avoided by children with a wheat allergy.

Atta Gluten Tabouleh
Bulgar Gram flour Triticale
Cous cous Kamut Wheat bran
Cracked wheat Kibbled wheat Wheat flakes
Cracker meal Pasta (unless listed as wheat free on the label) Wheat germ
Durum Puffed wheat Wheat meal
Farina Rusk Wheat starch
Farro Semolina
Flour* Spelt

*Flour includes all types of wheat based flours such as all-purpose, bread, cake, enriched, high gluten, high protein, multigrain, pastry, white, wholemeal, self-raising, soft wheat, steel ground, stone ground, wholemeal, whole-wheat1

Note: Sugars such as glucose, glucose syrup and dextrose, even if derived from wheat, rarely cause a reaction in children with a wheat allergy.2  Caramel colour is also made from wheat, however this too is generally tolerated by those with a wheat allergy.2

Please note that this is not a complete list of all foods containing wheat and wheat protein. It is important to check the labels of all manufactured foods before consuming.

Table adapted from Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy ‘Dietary Avoidance for wheat allergy’.

What does ‘gluten free’ mean?

Gluten is one of the proteins found in wheat, oats, barley and rye. In an allergic reaction the body’s immune system reacts to the protein in the food. In the case of wheat allergy, the body reacts to one of the many proteins found in wheat. Many children with a wheat allergy can still tolerate other grains, such as oats, barley and rye, though this is not true for everyone.2 You should check with your doctor regarding which grains are suitable for your child.

Gluten free products should be safe for children with a wheat allergy as they do not contain any wheat ingredients.2  It is important to discuss with your child’s doctor if they need to avoid all gluten containing foods or just wheat.

The following foods and ingredients may contain wheat and wheat protein. Be sure to check the labels of these foods to see if they are suitable for your child. If the food contains wheat it should be avoided by those with a wheat allergy.

 

Baked goods, cereal and grain products:

Biscuits- sweet and savoury Croutons Pasta
Bread* Crumpets Pastries
Bread crumbs Donuts Noodles
Bread mixes Muffins Tarts
Breakfast cereals Pancakes/waffles Tortillas and tacos
Cakes

*Bread includes all types, unless stated as gluten free on the label. Examples of breads that are made from wheat include white, wholemeal, multigrain, rye, flatbreads.

 

Meat, fish, poultry and alternatives:

BBQ chicken seasoning Processed meats
Meat and fish pastes Surimi
Meat and seafood substitutes  

 

Confectionery and desserts:

Chocolate Liquorice Many lollies (e.g. jubes, toffees)
Ice cream Chewing gum
Ice cream cones Marshmallows

 

Condiments, dressings and sauces:

Bottled sauces, all types Mustard Yeast extract spreads (e.g. Vegemite)
Dips Sauce mixes
Gravy mixes Soy sauce

 

Pre-prepared and takeaway food:

Battered and fried foods Potato chips/fries/wedges Tin/powdered soups Snack foods


Miscellaneous:

Baking mixes/powder Hydrolysed vegetable protein Playdough
Casserole bases and simmer sauces Icing mixture/sugar Stock powder and liquid
Cereal extract Instant drink mixes Starch
Corn flour (from wheat) Malt/malted milk Vegetable gum/starch
Flavourings (natural/artificial) Modified starch

Please note that this is not a complete list of all foods containing wheat and wheat protein. It is important to check the labels of all manufactured foods before consuming.

Wheat free alternatives

There are many alternatives available to replace breads, cereals and pasta in a wheat free diet. Most supermarkets now stock gluten free varieties of these foods in the health food aisle or where you would usually find the wheat containing options.  Wheat free pasta, for example, is generally found in the pasta aisle.  These wheat free foods are made from a variety of different grains such as rice, corn, buckwheat and potato. Snack foods, such as crackers and chips, are also easy to replace. Look for gluten free options such as rice crackers, plain chips or corn chips.

Please note, this fact sheet does not list all foods containing wheat.

Parents should check the labels of all foods prior to feeding to your child with wheat allergy.

 

  1. 2015. Food Allergies: Wheat. Food Standards Australian and New Zealand. Viewed 29 June 2016. http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/consumer/foodallergies/allergies/Pages/Wheat.aspx
  2. 2014. Dietary avoidance- wheat allergy. Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy. Viewed 29 June 2016. http://www.allergy.org.au/patients/food-allergy/ascia-dietary-avoidance-for-food-allergy